Honah Thompson – A Gap Year Full of Active Community & Meaningful Work

HONAH2014_020

Hello! I’m so excited to embark on the amazing journey that is the Justice Leadership Program through UCC’s Young Adult Service Community in Seattle for the next year. In looking for something to fill my gap year after undergrad I was hoping to find opportunities that would allow for continued participation in active community while spending time doing meaningful work. I feel I has found that and so much more in this amazing program that will offer spiritual sojourning, justice leadership classes, church service at Plymouth Congregational Church, and an internship at the Washington Low Income Housing Alliance. I am a native of Santa Rosa, California (north of San Francisco in Sonoma County’s wine country) and recently graduated from Chapman University with a BA in sociology and religious studies with an emphasis in social work.

Fun facts about Honah: I am the proud owner of two mice (named Manny and Desmond), I used to work as a duck trainer and chicken midwife, and I have bungee jumped from the tallest bungee bridge in the world during my semester abroad in South Africa.

Leave a Reply

