Tim Kent – Welcoming and being welcomed

WIN_20140924_120343

I’m Tim and I’m from north of Boston; this year I’m serving at Old First Reformed United Church of Christ in Philadelphia, PA. During my first month my time was dedicated to training in the Cupboard, a breakfast hosted by volunteers where up to eighty homeless men come to get a meal on Saturdays.  Additionally, I have been learning to recruit and schedule volunteers, and also creating ways for others to get involved in the community here at Old First.  It has been great getting to know the congregation, and I enjoy the many potlucks and activities available to us, such as the welcome picnic and tubing down the Delaware River.  I’m really looking forward to the rest of my experience here in Philadelphia, and getting to know the church community more.

Leave a Reply

