For a Future in the Field of Public Health

Maura W

My name is Maura Walsh and I am a 22 year old participating in the YASC in Granite City, Illinois. I was born and raised in Red Wing, Minnesota. I studied chemistry and justice and peace studies at the University of St. Thomas in St. Paul, Minnesota. My agency is Hoyleton Ministries. I am working in their East St. Louis office with their Puentes de Esperanza (translates to bridges of hope) and prevention services. These areas of the organization do a tremendous amount of good in the area. Currently, I have started facilitating substance abuse prevention courses in area schools with 6th and 7th graders. These topics cover everything from drug and alcohol use and advertisements to dealing with anxiety and anger.

My hopes for the future include attending graduate school for public health. I think this experience is going to be a great segue to my career in public health. My time so far has enforced my desires to continue my education in this field and within the non-profit industry.

Leave a Reply

