Doing vs. Being – Emmanuel Mancilla in Seattle

Emmanuel1

Picture of the Faith-Led march, Seattle, in response to Ferguson’s jury decision in no indictment of officer Darren Wilson

Emmanuel2
Picture of me (Emmanuel) all nervous before beginning my community workshop.

I am an intern at The Church Council of Greater Seattle and there are a set of responsibilities that I have/had to fulfill. I started a resource guide and website counterpart for migrants in our community, I set up our monthly living wage working group meetings, and recently I created a couple community workshops for those who would be affected by Obama’s new immigration reform announcement. All good things, but after my conversation with a friend of mine I realized a balance between the idea of “being” and “doing” was missing.

You see,“doing” is so much easier to do. We can quantify what we do, see, count, and judge our results. We can also count the results of not doing. After we accomplish something our next thought tends to be on the “what’s next?” There’s never this moment of reflection on what has been done because we are so consumed on tackling our next tasks. For myself I can see how I’ve been caught up in the “doing” versus the “being.”  Somewhere along the lines I lost my passion for doing some of the things that were mentioned above. They became things on a checklist that had to be checked off before certain due dates. I had lost that energy I came into the program with.

I’ve had many moments where I began to ask myself the “why I am here” questions and then start a list of all the things I could have been doing this year. I think the reason why I find myself in these states of mind is because my sense of being was somewhere buried underneath all of the deadlines, tasks, and projects that are constantly growing. I believe the idea of “being” is challenging one self to think of how the work we are doing drives our spirituality and how our spirituality drives our work. If no reflection is going on then you might find yourself (like me) disconnected between your work and who you are. They become a year long to do list.

What does it actually mean for us (me) to march in a rally for social justice?
What does it actually mean for us (me) to advocate for a living wage?
What does it actually mean for us (me) to advocate for the rights of those undocumented?
What does it actually mean for us (me) to advocate in ending homelessness?

I am at a point in my life where I am being reminded of what it means to fully live out (be) the work I am doing rather than to just do my work. I want to learn more about who I am in this year of service and leave the program a year from now knowing that every Mon-Fri I was able to enhance the Kingdom of God in either small or big ways.

Thanks for reading.
-E

Here is a Link to the Sin Fronteras Resource Guide I was able to work on.
http://www.sinfronterasguide.org/

Leave a Reply

